• Tired
  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice for a new 5,500 gallon pond build in Hawaii

HawaiiDave is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Advice for a new 5,500 gallon pond build in Hawaii

This is my first post and I’m new to the forum although I have gotten a lot of great information from it so far. I have found this is a very effective forum for passing on knowledge and information. I’m in the preliminary stages and would greatly appreciate assistance in planning my first pond.

I live in Hawaii and am building a new house on my property about a year from now and an integral part of the house is an approximately 5,500 gallon koi pond. I will be building this house as an owner/contractor and have built two other houses before. I will be building the pond but I have never built one before. I am open to any suggestions but a few things would be difficult to change. It will be partly raised cement block with a subterranean reinforced concrete bottom coated with pond armor. It will be 10 feet wide and 15-16 feet long with a proposed depth of 5 feet on average (sloped to two bottom drains)

The pond equipment will be 6 feet from the end of the pond. This space is 10 feet wide. If needed I can make the equipment bay 10 feet deep. It will be enclosed and soundproofed as it is directly adjacent to the living space.

My priorities are low energy usage, ease of maintenance and quiet operation. I am willing to spend money up front to achieve these goals.

PROPOSED EQUIPMENT

2 Aquadyne Rhino II BD with air diffuser 4” pipe gravity drain to 2 separate HydroSieve PF compact pond sieve prefilters
      Remote skimmer 4” gravity drain to a HydroSieve satellite pond skimmer
      All these will be draining by 4” pipe to a ProfiDrum combi bio 30 with extra media and domestic water modification.