• Sneaky
  • Tired

Thread: Wintering water lilies in southeast Virginia

Leecm3 is offline Member
      is Browsing Koiphen

Feeling:
      Amused

Wintering water lilies in southeast Virginia

I am new to pond plants and was hoping for advise for wintering hardy water lilies. I purchased the hardy water lily from the pond guy in March. It has been blooming all summer and we love it. Winter is approaching and I’m not sure how to stow the water lily over winter.

I live in Chesapeake va (southeast Virginia) about 10 miles north of North Carolina. Our winter temps are not that bad, Jan & Feb are the harshest. Normal highs are around mid 40s with some days in the 30s upper 20s. Lows are normally upper 30s with some lows in the mid 20s. We do not get much snow, when it does snow maybe 3 to 6 inches that melt off in a day or two.

Our water lily is planted in a hanging planter that is about 18 inches under the waterline. I can lower or raise the planter by adjusting a chain that holds the planter in place. I have seen some posts that say to cut the stems and leave the lilies in the pond while other posts say to pull the tubers and trim them, roll them in some type of moss then seal them in a plastic bag then stow them in a room that is cool.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated, we would love for the lily to grow back next year. Here are a few pics of the lily.

Name:  CFFEDB3C-14AB-4E2F-9614-978C73C8D541.jpg
Views: 101
Size:  44.1 KB
      Name:  51EBDD5C-BF4F-4105-AD29-3DF7CA39D5EF.jpg
Views: 100
Size:  82.2 KB
      Attached Images Attached Images  

• Remove Ads
        Advertising from Google
        Promoting Koi and Pond
        keeping since 2007

batman is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----