• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Results 1 to 12 of 12

    Thread: Sieve or RDF Help?

    1. #1
      FishAddict12 is offline Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Crazy
       
      Join Date
      Mar 2020
      Location
      WA
      Posts
      51

      Sieve or RDF Help?

      I'm trying to decide on either a Zakki Sieve or a RDF from my skimmer and BD to replace my Russel Water Gardens Hydro Sieve. My main issue is that all my equipment is on a concrete pad above the water line so I don't have a pit or the space to put a pit in. I would love to gravity feed to a RDF or Sieve like a Cetus but that doesn't seem possible unless there is some sort of Sieve that is buriable.

      Current setup:

      Rhino BD 4 inch to Russel Water Gardens Hydro Sieve
      Russel Water Gardens remote skimmer
      1/3 HP Performance Pro 6300 GPH pump
      Aquadyne 8.8C Bead filter
      Dual UV 57 watt Aqua Ultraviolet in Parallel
      To TPR's and Waterfall

      Pond Size 3000 Gallons
      5 Koi (12"-18")and 2 Goldfish

      Pond is in the NW so we get lots of Fir needles.
      Last edited by FishAddict12; 07-26-2021 at 01:38 PM.

    2. #2
      Smittyskoi's Avatar
      Smittyskoi is offline Supporting Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Location
      United States
      Posts
      68
      Quote Originally Posted by FishAddict12 View Post
      I'm trying to decide on either a Zakki Sieve or a RDF from my skimmer and BD to replace my Russel Water Gardens Hydro Sieve. My main issue is that all my equipment is on a concrete pad above the water line so I don't have a pit or the space to put a pit in. I would love to gravity feed to a RDF or Sieve like a Cetus but that doesn't seem possible unless there is some sort of Sieve that is buriable.

      Current setup:

      Rhino BD 4 inch to Russel Water Gardens Hydro Sieve
      Russel Water Gardens remote skimmer
      1/3 HP Performance Pro 6300 GPH pump
      Aquadyne 8.8C Bead filter
      Dual UV 57 watt Aqua Ultraviolet in Parallel
      To TPR's and Waterfall

      Pond Size 3000 Gallons
      5 Koi (12"-18")and 2 Goldfish

      Pond is in the NW so we get lots of Fir needles.
      I would get the Zakki if gravity isn't an option for RDF. The zakki can handle the Fir needles fine.

    3. #3
      icu2's Avatar
      icu2 is offline Administrator ~ WWKC Treasurer
      ~ 2021 KPOTY
      is is growing tired of trolls
       
      Feeling:
      Meh
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Poulsbo, WA
      Posts
      33,155
      Fir needles and whatever they call the little red tops on new growth that fall everywhere...



      But I'd agree with Smitty... the only down side is actually finding one. I've read they are virtually
      impossible to get except for used... which also a rarity.
      --Steve
      ..WWKC Treasurer


    4. #4
      Noahsnana's Avatar
      Noahsnana is offline Koiphen Admin - WWKC
      is Lifetime WWKC
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2004
      Location
      So. MD
      Posts
      51,207
      Is Zakki Sieve even available ?
      Site seems to not be working
      The will of God will not take you where the grace of God cannot keep you. .....
      "I contend that for a nation to try to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle." -Winston Churchill Zone 7a
      I believe it can happen... Koi World Peace
      "The problem with socialism is that eventually you run out of other people's money." - Margaret Thatcher

    5. #5
      webted is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Western Washington
      Posts
      833
      Hi FishAddict12:

      There are pump fed versions of the Cetus Sieve, and I believe most of the RDFs can also be pump fed, so you should have a lot of options. It would probably help to make a quick sketch of your system and post it. I'm not sure what you mean when you say your filter pad is ABOVE the water line, but you'd like to gravity feed into it? Generally speaking, you either gravity feed into a filter that is at or below the waterline, or pump feed into a filter that is above the waterline.

      -t

    6. #6
      Smittyskoi's Avatar
      Smittyskoi is offline Supporting Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Location
      United States
      Posts
      68
      Quote Originally Posted by Noahsnana View Post
      Is Zakki Sieve even available ?
      Site seems to not be working
      The site is working when I just checked. I think zak is still making them. I know he was super backed up due to the pandemic. So it might take a while to get one.

    7. #7
      GloriaL's Avatar
      GloriaL is offline Supporting Member
      is YADA YADA YADA YADA WWKC Life
      time Diamond Member
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      Knoxville, Tn
      Posts
      4,858
      Could you post pictures of your pond, filtration setup, and an overall picture of the pond and yard?
      GloriaL
      YADA YADA YADA YADA WWKC Life time Diamond Member # 10












    8. #8
      FishAddict12 is offline Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Crazy
       
      Join Date
      Mar 2020
      Location
      WA
      Posts
      51
      Quote Originally Posted by GloriaL View Post
      Could you post pictures of your pond, filtration setup, and an overall picture of the pond and yard?
      All of my equipment is on a concrete pad above the waterline is what I meant by filter pad.

      Yes, Iíll take some photos of the layout. I believe I have some of how the pipes are buried too.

    9. #9
      scheurerj is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Apr 2020
      Location
      boise
      Posts
      6
      I donít have any advice, but might be interested in the old hydro sieve, if you are going to part with it after upgrading.

    10. #10
      batman's Avatar
      batman is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Oct 2013
      Location
      Gotham
      Posts
      1,245
      Quote Originally Posted by FishAddict12 View Post
      I'm trying to decide on either a Zakki Sieve or a RDF from my skimmer and BD to replace my Russel Water Gardens Hydro Sieve. My main issue is that all my equipment is on a concrete pad above the water line so I don't have a pit or the space to put a pit in. I would love to gravity feed to a RDF or Sieve like a Cetus but that doesn't seem possible unless there is some sort of Sieve that is buriable.
      All the sieves and RDFs can be burried if protected from being smashed with something like a treated wood box. Essentially a compact mini pit just big enough for the device.

      Perhaps this mini-pit could go where the Hydrosieve currently is?
      The real Batman wears polyester! Don't be fooled by the plastic imposter.

    11. #11
      FishAddict12 is offline Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Crazy
       
      Join Date
      Mar 2020
      Location
      WA
      Posts
      51
      Quote Originally Posted by batman View Post
      All the sieves and RDFs can be burried if protected from being smashed with something like a treated wood box. Essentially a compact mini pit just big enough for the device.

      Perhaps this mini-pit could go where the Hydrosieve currently is?
      Yes, I think perhaps some sort of mini pit just big enough to fit the sieve could work. Here are some pictures of what I have finished so far. I'll look up some of the pictures of the pipes before I buried everything.
      Attached Images Attached Images    

    12. #12
      FishAddict12 is offline Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Crazy
       
      Join Date
      Mar 2020
      Location
      WA
      Posts
      51
      Here are some of the pictures of the plumbing before it got covered up. There is some room for a potential mini pit right where the BD Shut off valve and HydroSieve are placed. The other possibility I thought about would involve a lot more work but I could demo all or part of the slab in my equipment area and make a pit there and rebuild the retaining wall down to that grade.

      The existing BD is 4 inch pipe to the HydroSieve then 3 inch pipe to the performance pro pump. I did this so I would have more options later without digging up 50 ft of landscaping again.
      Attached Images Attached Images   

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •