• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 21 to 40 of 43

    Thread: Pump suddenly weak, why?

    1. #21
      EmeraldDragon's Avatar
      EmeraldDragon is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Friendly
       
      Join Date
      Mar 2021
      Location
      Walnut, California
      Posts
      876
      Quote Originally Posted by secuono View Post
      I'm finding 250V or 450V, no 300V.
      Hmm...
      My experience with voltage if there is no 300v then 450v should do. But in this case, I am not sure. I have no experience with pump. I deals with IT and Computers.
      -=[Sunny]=-

      I have served, I have fought to defends the rights and freedom for all Americans. I am a proud Retired Veteran!

      Zen's Pond and Garden - The Zen Zone that keeps our sanity alive every day!


    2. #22
      secuono's Avatar
      secuono is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      273
      Checking alibaba site and still can't find it.

      What I find-
      Climatic category: 40, 70 and 21

      What mine shows-
      25/70/21


      70F max temp is crazy. How do these pumps survive at all? 90-100F, sometimes even at ground level and shaded.

      I'm wondering if the metal tab is just to hold it in place vs grounding? ��

    3. #23
      EmeraldDragon's Avatar
      EmeraldDragon is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Friendly
       
      Join Date
      Mar 2021
      Location
      Walnut, California
      Posts
      876
      That might be your problems right there, bad designs from starts. No grounding? That's not good.
      -=[Sunny]=-

      I have served, I have fought to defends the rights and freedom for all Americans. I am a proud Retired Veteran!

      Zen's Pond and Garden - The Zen Zone that keeps our sanity alive every day!


    4. #24
      htgoldfish is offline Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Nov 2018
      Location
      Minnesota
      Posts
      38
      Quote Originally Posted by secuono View Post
      Checking alibaba site and still can't find it.

      What I find-
      Climatic category: 40, 70 and 21

      What mine shows-
      25/70/21


      70F max temp is crazy. How do these pumps survive at all? 90-100F, sometimes even at ground level and shaded.

      I'm wondering if the metal tab is just to hold it in place vs grounding? ��

      May be it means 70 C not F

    5. #25
      secuono's Avatar
      secuono is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      273
      Alright, ordered a little black box, should come in Friday.
      Ordered a new ES8500, not sure when it'll arrive. If the black part doesn't fix it, new pump will be installed.
      94F today, water still in the low 70s. I put the black box back and turned pump on to not kill my beneficial bacteria.
      Got a little pump always going on far end, but added the hose on shower setting to try and agitate the surface more. Also upped the drain n refill, so pond should stay cooler and hold more oxygen for them.
      Hopefully, all will be peachy keen...
      Attached Images Attached Images   

    6. #26
      coolwon is online now Senior Member
      is Garfield is my name DIY is my
      game
       
      Feeling:
      Cool
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2016
      Location
      Durban South Africa
      Posts
      2,632
      For our single phase 220 volts power supply, I would select a 10 mfd at 450 volts.

      It is encased in a plastic housing,no need to ground it.

      The metal tab is to secure it in the electrical compartment of the appliance to stop it vibrating and moving against a sharp metal edge and the insulated wire

      becoming damaged and going to ground with a dead short.

      Take the higher voltage.

      I see made in China.

      Probably why they seem to fail all to often.


      I had one on a Carrier 32,000 Btu air conditioning unit,rated at 5 mfd but delivering 4.46 mfd last week.

      The result, the condenser fan motor was not getting up to full speed to deliver the full volume of air.

      The single pole circuit breaker tripped with the higher head pressure and higher amperage drawn.

      This capacitor had a plastic molded lug to secure it standing up with a self tapper screw.
      Find more about Weather in Durban, ZA

    7. #27
      Orlando is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jun 2017
      Location
      Orlando
      Posts
      1,069
      Quote Originally Posted by secuono View Post
      Googling it now.
      (Daikin) use to be called Goodman, that's the same capacitor they run on their PTACs, package terminal air conditioners for the evaporator fan motors. See if you can find a parts distributor in your area if not lookup PTAC repair and you should be able to get one they were pretty cheap.

    8. #28
      secuono's Avatar
      secuono is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      273
      Thanks so much everyone!
      I'll be sure to update.

    9. #29
      batman's Avatar
      batman is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Oct 2013
      Location
      Gotham
      Posts
      1,140
      300 volts is the upper rating for the factory (cheap) capacitor. Buy a 10 uf capacitor at 300 v or greater.. Zero issues with a higher rating. Higher V rating equals more HD.

      You can expect less life for any pump left out exposed to the elements. If not covered think about a rain cover.

      For pumps like this longevity is mostly about how high a quality motor is used. Advantage Manufacturing is known for low life cheap motors. Also known for continually switching motor models and it's hard telling what you'll end up with.
      Last edited by batman; 05-27-2021 at 04:09 PM.
      The real Batman wears polyester! Don't be fooled by the plastic imposter.

    10. #30
      secuono's Avatar
      secuono is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      273
      Quote Originally Posted by batman View Post
      300 volts is the upper rating for the factory (cheap) capacitor. Buy a 10 uf capacitor at 300 v or greater.. Zero issues with a higher rating. Higher V rating equals more HD.

      You can expect less life for any pump left out exposed to the elements. If not covered think about a rain cover.

      For pumps like this longevity is mostly about how high a quality motor is used. Advantage Manufacturing is known for low life cheap motors. Also known for continually switching motor models and it's hard telling what you'll end up with.
      Are you in the USA?
      If so, what comparable, but better motor, pump is there for this one?

    11. #31
      coolwon is online now Senior Member
      is Garfield is my name DIY is my
      game
       
      Feeling:
      Cool
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2016
      Location
      Durban South Africa
      Posts
      2,632
      Quote Originally Posted by batman View Post
      300 volts is the upper rating for the factory (cheap) capacitor. Buy a 10 uf capacitor at 300 v or greater.. Zero issues with a higher rating. Higher V rating equals more HD.

      You can expect less life for any pump left out exposed to the elements. If not covered think about a rain cover.

      For pumps like this longevity is mostly about how high a quality motor is used. Advantage Manufacturing is known for low life cheap motors. Also known for continually switching motor models and it's hard telling what you'll end up with.



      When you install a rain cover, allow that hot air generated by the electrical windings to escape and be thoroughly ventilated.

      Fresh air in,hot air right out and away.
      Find more about Weather in Durban, ZA

    12. #32
      batman's Avatar
      batman is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Oct 2013
      Location
      Gotham
      Posts
      1,140
      Quote Originally Posted by coolwon View Post
      When you install a rain cover, allow that hot air generated by the electrical windings to escape and be thoroughly ventilated.

      Fresh air in,hot air right out and away.
      I agree it must allow adequate air flow. Providing shade on a hot sunny day the motor also runs cooler.
      The real Batman wears polyester! Don't be fooled by the plastic imposter.

    13. #33
      Steves55's Avatar
      Steves55 is offline Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      California
      Posts
      66
      Quote Originally Posted by secuono View Post
      Are you in the USA?
      If so, what comparable, but better motor, pump is there for this one?
      I've had 2 Performance Pro pumps running 24/7 365 on my pond since 2006. That's not a typo. No parts ever replaced.

      https://www.performancepropumps.com

    14. #34
      icu2's Avatar
      icu2 is online now Administrator ~ WWKC Treasurer
      ~ 2021 KPOTY
      is playing on Koiphen
       
      Feeling:
      Friendly
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Poulsbo, WA
      Posts
      32,805
      --Steve
      ..WWKC Treasurer


    15. #35
      secuono's Avatar
      secuono is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      273
      Got the new capacitor hooked up!
      Took pump apart again to double check for anything oddly wrapped or w/e, didn't find anything. =/
      Plugged it in and it works, but not full power. No longer whimpy, maybe half power, a good improvement. Fish are much more happy now.
      Attached Images Attached Images   

    16. #36
      coolwon is online now Senior Member
      is Garfield is my name DIY is my
      game
       
      Feeling:
      Cool
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2016
      Location
      Durban South Africa
      Posts
      2,632
      Compare the water levels leaving each pipe, with the algae tide marks on the inside of each pipe.

      Check amperage of the pump.

      Rated at 3.6 amps Full load amps on the specification label.

      Appears to be delivering the same volume of water prior to the low mfd from the capacitor, which was not allowing it to get up to maximum speed +-1725 RPM.
      Find more about Weather in Durban, ZA

    17. #37
      kimini is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      SoCal
      Posts
      1,676
      Higher voltage is fine. Going lower is not.

    18. #38
      secuono's Avatar
      secuono is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      273
      Quote Originally Posted by coolwon View Post
      Compare the water levels leaving each pipe, with the algae tide marks on the inside of each pipe.

      Check amperage of the pump.

      Rated at 3.6 amps Full load amps on the specification label.

      Appears to be delivering the same volume of water prior to the low mfd from the capacitor, which was not allowing it to get up to maximum speed +-1725 RPM.
      Visually, from the pics of the outside I can tell it's less than full. And from the last two filter bins, which borderline overflow when on full blast, I know its not performing as it should.

    19. #39
      batman's Avatar
      batman is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Oct 2013
      Location
      Gotham
      Posts
      1,140
      Running with capacitor out can permanently damage a motor.
      The real Batman wears polyester! Don't be fooled by the plastic imposter.

    20. #40
      secuono's Avatar
      secuono is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Location
      Virginia
      Posts
      273
      Quote Originally Posted by batman View Post
      Running with capacitor out can permanently damage a motor.
      What?
      Who said anything is "out" and out where?

      Do you mean while it's broken?

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •