• Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1,200 gal. Pond Planning! Unique Situation..

ginandtonic is offline Junior Member
      is in the pond planning phase

Feeling:
      ----

Question 1,200 gal. Pond Planning! Unique Situation..

Hi all,

I've been a long time lurker here but only signed up for an account today after reading as much as I could! I'm a landscape designer by trade looking to add a koi pond to my own backyard. I am *very* pressed for space, and do not have room for an above grade filtration system, with the exception of being able to hide a couple biofilter barrels behind the waterfall. I'm also in an area that gets about 4' of frost during the winter, so I'm wondering about PVC durability, or if I have to dig all my trenches at 5' depth. I'd like to have an upper perimeter of ornamental rocks half submerged in the water, but no rock material below that for cleanliness reasons. The goal is a garden pond/koi pond hybrid.

I'm trying to decide on a layout that is most practical and cost efficient. Below is the area I'm working with. One side is the house, the other is the deck, and the other two are pathways - it's about a 15'x15' square area with a Mt. Fuji cherry tree right in the center. The definitely ups the skimmer work and probably creates work for me, but I'm okay with that.

Name:  IMG_1792.jpg
Views: 202
Size:  228.9 KB

Both options below are around 1000-1200 gallons including side slopes/shelves. The only spot for the pump to go is under the deck as an external pump (about 14" clearance underneath), unless theres a way to incorporate the pump into the vortex and draw from the top? Not sure. The vortex will have to be below grade (no washout valve at the bottom possible), so I'll have to have a separate pump that I can drop in and drain it out every fall/spring I guess. The lid will be covered with mulch that I'll move off the lid for access as needed.

Layout Option #1