• Tired
  • Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2020 Yamabuki Ogon cross Gin Rin Platinum Ogon

spkennyva is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

2020 Yamabuki Ogon cross Gin Rin Platinum Ogon

Here's a video (sorry for the quality) of the fry that resulted from Yamabuki Ogon (M) crossed Gin Rin Platinum Ogon (F). This spawning occurred in April 2020. This pairing resulted in very true offspring. All are nearly the same color. I have about 15-20% Gin Rin, with the bulk either normal scalation, or scattered scales (<10%).

https://youtu.be/3k3ztai1rgc

• Remove Ads
        Advertising from Google
        Promoting Koi and Pond
        keeping since 2007

Orlando is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Very nice, I've never culled that variety but watch the lighter colored ones and pay close attention to the middle of the pack.

This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Thank you! This is my first time with this pairing, so all tips are appreciated

Almost zero deformities and the fry seem very healthy. If these pan out, I will definitely repeat this next season.

pondfishguy is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

You've got very good growth. Larger than my May spawn, though I'd guess yours are less crowded. How any gallons is the tank they live in?

Matt24 is offline Senior Member
      is watchin' em grow

Feeling:
      ----

Nice ones again. Very good growth. What brand are the tiny pellets you are feeding them? I'm a little surprised the ginrin % was not higher since I thought it was a dominant trait.

This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Yes, I was really hoping for a majority of ginrin. Not quite sure why the percentages were so low. Regardless, there are several with really nice ginrin. The mother is spectacular.