• Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie question re: Sick Koi

RMH is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Newbie question re: Sick Koi

Greetings from Colorado! Newbie here.

We had/have 7 Koi quarantined while trying to knock out gill and skin flukes to no avail.

This was after a failed overall pond treatment with ProForm C and Prazi to knock out Chilodonella and flukes. Neither worked.

On the advice of our local Koi dealer, we have since treated them in a salt bath (3%) for 2 minutes at a time - with fresh-water breaks in between - for a total of 10 minutes. None of the fish rolled over during the salt bath but one Koi died within 24 hours and another small one is laying on its side, seemingly paralyzed from the mid-section to tail. I did a scape on the dead Koi and still found a heavy infestation of flukes and some Chilodonella. Scrapes on the other fish showed nothing else but flukes.

Waited 24 hours and went thru the same treatment again - except the small one laying on its side. This seemed to do the trick; scrapes on 3 found nothing. (Plan to do scrapes on the others later this evening.)

It seems the parasites are gone but our largest Koi is still occasionally flipping out by swimming erratically and trying to jump out of the tank. When he slows down, he occasionally shakes/twitches his head and floats to the top, head-up. A few times, he has slowly rolled to his side. He was doing all of this before the salt bath, so I don't know what else to check for or do for him...

The smaller Koi (4") was twitching and swimming erratically prior to the salt bath as well; I may have put him over the edge because now he appears to have issues with his swim bladder. I'm at a complete loss as to how to help this little guy.

Is this normal as the parasites are dying, or were the Koi already so weakened that the salt bath doomed them?

Thanks for any help or advice you can offer.