• Sneaky
  • Tired

Thread: gravity fed filtration complications

Derek24 is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

gravity fed filtration complications

I used to have a small 1000 gallon pond a few years ago so i have some basic knowledge but due to a friends death i am entering the big leagues by inheriting quite a few EXPENSIVE koi, a GIANT Rotating Drum Filter that he didnt get installed before passing away, and a few odds and ends. His wife is currently caring for the koi until i get mine built but she plans to sell and move.

I am trying to wrap my head around the finer details of gravity fed filtration systems. I have heard they are the better choice if you put them in when you build the pond. Right now I am still in the designing stage of my pond but i would like it to be about 40ftx 20ft x 6ft which is about 35000 gallons if my math is correct. The link at the bottom is the giant RDF i will have available.

1. Can i plug bottom drains and skimmers into all of it's 5 inlets?
      2. is there an equation to find out how much water will gravity flow through these pipes? i understand that water always finds it's equal but that turns, smaller pipes, length of horizontal and vertical runs, and the slope of elevation all play a role in determining the flow but not sure how to account for them.
      3 on the slope of elevation between the pond level and the filter where exactly am i measuring too? the inlets of the filter? the weir of the first compartment? the outlet of the filter?
      4. How does draw down affect the positioning or performance of the filter?
      5 Can i put a gravity Bio filter after the RDF or should i do pump then pressurized bio filter?