• Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired

Thread: Yentyl is loner, small brain? sick?... one is not like the others. Worried fish mama

Koigarden is offline Member
      is happy as a clam

Feeling:
      Friendly

Yentyl is loner, small brain? sick?... one is not like the others. Worried fish mama

This is my first try at growing out a box of baby koi for the winter. They are indoors, on soft water and I've had them 8 weeks. They were shipped as 2 to 2.5 inch butterfly.
      I had problems at first with what was probably fin rot and lost some initially but was told to warm them up ( now 68F) and add more salt (now .35%) and so I have been over that issue for a while.

Tank is poly stocktank
      ammonia & nitrite are 0,
      pH 7.4, and
      nitrate 20
      daily: vacuuming bottom and 5-10% water change

There were some that just seemed to be really weak swimmers and oblivious, they didn't move like the others and didn't seem to hide as fast.
      They had wispy too thin tail stems. Most of them didn't make it.
      Well here is the last one to exhibit these behaviors, his name is Yentyl, and I wondered if there is something here that I should cull so it doesn't sicken the others or is this just a weirdo or poor genetics or?

What he does different:
      very very slender
      doesn't school
      often sits
      prefers head to the wall or head in the sponges or hiding during meals
      he always swims slow
      often bumps his head( lips) on the side of the tank
      hangs out head up like a gecko on the wall
      rarely eats
      rarely swims the length of the tank
      hides more than the others
      hasn't grown much if at all

It looks like all his fins move and I can see his eyes move and he does occasionally eat very little. It seems like he can move in all directions and never rolls over. I'm attACHING SOME VIDEO but it looks like it has to go to FB first to get a video added here. I'll sent this first.