• Tired
  • Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Hello everyone.

FRK is offline Supporting Member
      is On the home stretch

Feeling:
      Happy

Smile Hello everyone.

It was suggested I start a new thread here. As a retirement dream I am about dive into Koi breeding. I am a long time koi keeper but a complete novice at breeding. Will appreciate all the feed back I can get along this journey. I have started my dream by having some mud ponds dug and a well drilled. Will be putting in some concrete holding tanks when weather improves this April. I have purchased a Kohaku pair and will also be picking out a Showa pair from Purdins Koi Farm. As a start up I am hoping that I can get by with a single male the first year at least. I will be looking for another compatible male in the future.
      First question. How much should I be concerned with inbreeding ie. If I keep a male from my first spawn and breed back to it's mother? I ask this because I have been led to be very cautious with Japanese imports in regards to disease issues. (example, Kodama just had a KHV outbreak.)

Here are a couple of pictures of the progress of my start up Koi Farm.

Woody: The heron eater

Name:  20180130_085011.jpg
Views: 890
Size:  379.5 KB

Name:  20180208_161713.jpg
Views: 870
Size:  277.2 KB

Name:  20180131_165010.jpg
Views: 951
Size:  202.7 KB
      Last edited by FRK; 02-10-2018 at 03:27 PM.

• Remove Ads
        Advertising from Google
        Promoting Koi and Pond
        keeping since 2007

Koigrl is offline Supporting Member ~ WWKC BOD
      is is cheerful.

Feeling:
      Cool

Good for starting your thread.