PDA

View Full Version : Unexpected spawn, need guidence

janine
01-29-2009, 11:29 AM
Hi all, I'm new to this hobby of keeping koi, so new infact that My pond is still in the start up phase, not even stable yet. Came home yesterday to a pond full of eggs. I got some advise from another thread but thought I should jump over here. My plan is to set up my 20 gal tank, with an air stone and put the hyacinths in (eggs) I also have a 350 gal preform pond I can set up, that has a 600 GPH submersible in a filter box, with bioballs and such. It has a very small screen lid the water pulls through. Do I use the pond water? I mentioned it is not stable and is bound with chemicals (amquel). Should I start fresh? I mentioned on the other thread my above ground pool is sitting stagnant now for two mos, no chemeicals, lots of grren water, some one recommended using it for the larger 350 gallon pond, it would already have living food in it. Is this okay, cause WOW, that would be convient! I can get and hatch some brine shrimp, at what time ...days...weeks do I do things, is there a fry raising schedule somewhere? I need the basics really. Alot of the eggs are gettin eaten, so I'll be saving the ones on the hyacinths only. If I'm starting fresh, with well water naturally high PH, 8.0ish. do I add starter and that, or salt, or just the airstone. Should I bypass the 20 gallon and go straight to the small pond? Any info, would make me very very happy and greatful:bow: janine......in way over my head:eek1:

Midorigoi
01-29-2009, 01:10 PM