PDA

View Full Version : Sakai Ikeage Fish

koiman1950
08-21-2008, 08:52 PM
Okay, for fun, tear these apart! I picked these two to be grown in the mud through Russell. The Showa is 9" and the Kohaku is 12". As I don't currently have a Sakai Kohaku, I thought I'd give this one a shot. If I can afford it, I will keep them both at the farm for at least another year to two years.

jonathan
08-21-2008, 09:05 PM
The showa is just one I wouldn't buy. I really don't like the kohaku pattern but is the black filled in right id buy this koi. I think that if the black does fill in just right youll have your self a really nice koi. But I be live it would make a nice koi to watch and see the progress of the koi over the next couple years. I do see a Decent koi but nothing show quality but that's just me and I'm no expert.

The kohaku is OK i really don't like how its smaller pattern is in the back. I think I do see the marten spot disconnecting from the pattern thought. Which in my eyes would add interest to the koi so that's a plus. But over all I like the kohaku a lot just due to me seeing more potential then the showa. I don't know why but to me I see a good kohaku in the making once again I'm no expert I'm just a ponder

Over all I think you got two really good '' Project'' koi. Id like to see these koi after they come out of the mud.

nguyen4
08-21-2008, 09:57 PM
Mike I ilke your Showa, it have nice body, pattern is nice too.

dick benbow
08-21-2008, 10:14 PM
I quess I can't comment about the patterns cause in the end, atleast with toshio's Koi when they get big, it's the other things that count.

The showa will have a stronger black than anticipated when finished.

look at the depth and uniformity of the beni on the Kohaku. Compare it's
tailtube diameter to that of the showa. The kohaku has a wider mouth then the showa and i believe as a sign that it will be the bigger grower of the two.

Hirogoi
08-21-2008, 10:57 PM