PDA

View Full Version : Another Showa to view

afertuna
08-21-2008, 05:06 PM
http://i254.photobucket.com/albums/hh81/afertuna/DSC04400.jpg

I am just learning on how to pick fish. Let me know what you guys think about this one. I couldnt resist when I saw him this year. He is @6-8" I think he may have some potential

Ethan25
08-21-2008, 05:16 PM
http://i254.photobucket.com/albums/hh81/afertuna/DSC04400.jpg

I am just learning on how to pick fish. Let me know what you guys think about this one. I couldnt resist when I saw him this year. He is @6-8" I think he may have some potential

I think this fish may have been fed color enhancers....I had a sanke that had similar finnage...that yellowish/off-white tint, and after being in the pond for a year, it cleared up.

At first glance, one may say the beni/hi is weak, but I think it may have a look like that becuase of growth. It depends on what time of the year the picture was taken. Is this a recent picture?

afertuna
08-21-2008, 05:27 PM
The picture was taken on July 25th. Part of it was the fact that it was soooo sunny outside and I think with that one I had to click on the one fix button when I downloaded it. I do have to say its hi and sumi look better in person. I noticed the picture in the hi looks pinecone like I will see if i have the non-edited picture I can put on instead

koiman1950
08-21-2008, 08:22 PM
I'm afraid the beni on this fish is weak and as it grows, the hi plates will fall apart. Notice that you can see separation between many of the red scales at the back edge of the patterns? That's a sure giveaway. Also, Ethan is probably correct, fed color food to brighten it up so it could be sold, otherwise, the breeder should have culled it at the second or third culling.