PDA

View Full Version : Fry and their egg sac...

sgarbett
04-16-2008, 10:41 AM
Hi everyone. I am a newbie to raising fry. I have several hundred babie fry that hatched Sunday. Most are hanging out on the bottom or stuck to the sides of the tank while others are swiming around. My question is.. how long does it take for the fry to obsorb their egg sac?? I don't know when to start feeding?? Sonnie

Just Jessie
04-16-2008, 10:59 AM
When the sack is absorbed and they are all free swimming, at least thats what I do.

rainblood
04-16-2008, 12:10 PM
We love pics :yes: :yes: :yes: :yes:

sgarbett
04-16-2008, 01:02 PM
I would love to post pictures for you. Being a newbie I know the current housing conditions are not right. They are sooo small. I am terrified about water changing or moving the fry to a more suited home. I will try to get pics for you. This is the first spawning from my two Butterfly Koi. I was caught completly by surprise. The water temp was barely 65 and they didn't start the hanky panky until late morning into early afternoon. I will post pictures of the parents also. Maybe someone will give me more detail on their proper Koi names and what posibly to expect if any fry live??

rainblood
04-18-2008, 06:03 PM
How are they coming along bub?

bigtylor
04-18-2008, 11:33 PM
There are a few threads on here of people and their spawns. Watch the ammonia. I found out the hard way, it shoots up WAY FAST.

rainblood
04-23-2008, 01:21 PM
I assume by your silence and lack of pics that either (1) fry are all dead or (2) you're too busy to post because you've got ten thousand fry you're carin' for. Which one is it :D:

sgarbett
04-26-2008, 11:55 AM