PDA

View Full Version : backyard breeding/why I still work for a living

koi4u2c
07-11-2007, 07:56 PM
I have some butterfly koi that I am very fond of, so I thought I would play around with breeding a few.

Started with 2 sets:
yellow doitsu male and female /and yellow and white matsuba female

platinum and hariwake females and orenji, yellow, and orange and white males -all gin rin

The first set spawned immediately and hatched in less that 48 hours.

The second set needed a little coaxing and I had to add a spray of cool water and a cup of scent from the first set that spawned.

Removed the parents and added fresh water and airstones to the tanks with eggs. The water in the first tank, immediately went green and I thought good fry food.

The second pond I also added airstones and the water stayed clear for a while.

At one week later pond with fry from second set were doing well with thousands of fry.

First tank with first set that spawned, not a fry in sight. ???????? Just disappeared.

I decided to remove about 500 or more from the pond where the second (gin rins) spawned to a 750 gallon tank. I took pains to remove all the tadpoles that had hatched 2 days after the fry hatched.

Placed the 500 or so fry in the 750 gallon tank with a uv light and a box filter covered with quilt batting to prevent fry being sucked into the filter. Left the rest of the fry in the 500 gallon pond where the fish had spawned, no filter, just airstones. Water turned green.

Tree frogs immediately filled the 750 tank with eggs and they hatched. I have learned tree frog tadpoles do not eat fry and will keep all excess powdered fry food from fouling the water by eating the excess.

I have not found it necessary to cull. Nature has done it for me. I probably have about 50 left from the 500 I moved to the 750 gallon tank. I think thinned by the larger fry.