PDA

View Full Version : My Planned breeding..Goshiki-Showa!!

Brutuscz
05-20-2007, 09:42 AM
This is my first attempt at a planned breeding. My parents are a Takahashi male showa and a hiroi female goshiki. Whenever I see a goshiki/showa from otsuka..I think it's beautiful...and often expensive$$$. I know pskoi has a few that are exceptional. I also like that the Hi is really deep red. My parents both have excellent hi..so, I'm hoping my pair works out. I used a 450gal kiddie pool..with 2-500watt titanium heaters. I am keeping the water at a stable 71deg. I also used 2-5ft spawning brushes. I had tons of eggs..and currently have tons of fry. I thought the black fry would be the goshiki showa...I will try to raise them all for now. I want to see if the white fry are goshiki??? I am feeding frozen baby brine shrimp,dafnia and rotifers. I am also mixing in hbh brand baby bites fry food. They seem to be eating it...so far so good. I am doing water changes..I have a second pool of 210gal with a 300watt heater to match the temp for the water changes. I am also using ammonia removal pads in my filter. My submersible pump has a nylon stocking around it to keep the fry out. I also have 2 airstones running. I'll keep everyone updated!!!:yahoo:

Blammo
05-20-2007, 09:49 AM
You sir, are brilliant !!!
Focus..focus...

Rudy
05-20-2007, 11:38 AM
Fill me in on the ammonia removal pads please. Zeolite packets?:confused:

Joey S
05-20-2007, 02:35 PM
Nice looking parents. Can't wait to see what you got!

Brutuscz
05-21-2007, 11:02 PM
Fill me in on the ammonia removal pads please. Zeolite packets?:confused:
It is simply a pad by oddysea..probably with zeolite in it. Maybe 2ftX1ft and cost $5. It says to replace them every 2 weeks. They also come in carbon pads and phosphate removal pads. Don't know if it's working..but the fry are doing excellent. I will keep doing exactly what I'm doing!!!

Rudy
05-22-2007, 06:33 PM