PDA

View Full Version : Nitrite Testing Question

Overwhelmed
01-27-2017, 10:38 AM
Hello,

I'm been a lurker on this site for quite a while and have learned an enormous amount by doing so. I want to thank all of you who are so generous with sharing your knowledge with people like me, who knew almost nothing before finding this site.

I had an odd experience yesterday and I would like your opinions.

I brought in some water from my pond, which had a water temperature of just over 50 degrees at the time. I did my usual tests, and the nitrite level was a little less than .25, but definitely over 0. I wasn't very happy with that, and a few hours later, I tested the same water sample again. This time I got a reading of 0. For good measure, I tested it a 3rd time and got the same result of 0.

I have found some information that says that the water should warm to room temperature before testing, but I've never done that before. Besides, my fish are living in the cooler water, and it would seem to me that I should be testing the water they actually live in.

My question is, can warming the water cause a different result in the test? And how does this relate to my fish? It's very possible that I just made a mistake and perhaps added too many drops. But this has gotten my curiosity up.

Thanks for your help.

KoiRun
01-27-2017, 12:43 PM
You mean you brought a batch of water, acclimated it, tested +. Retested the same batch now it's - .Or did you go out and got a new batch (not acclimated) and that tested - (neg)?

Overwhelmed
01-27-2017, 12:56 PM
I brought in a sample of water from the pond, testing it right away. It was still at pond temperature, or close to that, around 50 degrees. I got a reading of close to .25 nitrite.

I let that same sample of water sit and tested it again, a few hours later. I assume that by then it had heated to room temperature. At that time, the water tested at 0, both times that I tested.

I hope that answers your question.

Overwhelmed