PDA

View Full Version : New breeding setup - input please! :)

freki
04-08-2010, 03:09 PM
So I'm extremely new to freshwater fish. I've built small (~1000 gal) ponds and koi in them before, but that's about it. I've had some success with breeding percula and ocellaris clowns in the marine environment, but this is a new ballgame for me.

Me and a friend have access to a hatchery and they are letting us use, for free :), 6 10x5 ponds that have a max depth of about 4-5ft. All the ponds are wood sides with mud bottoms except for one, which is all concrete. The ponds have a constant geothermal supply of water that is mixed with cold water to about 77 degrees (we can further cool it, just turn up the cold water) all year round. Each pond also has a drain that empties into settling ponds.

I think for this year we just want to purchase a few good males and females that are small (maybe about 4-6 inches?) and let them grow and fatten up over the next year and shoot for spawning next year in two of the ponds.

For aeration we figure some kind of spray bar or drip plate over each pond from the inlet should be sufficient...?

What suggestions do you guys have? Any and all welcome. I'll keep you updated as well.

Noahsnana
04-08-2010, 04:50 PM
:bump: for poster

skubasteve
04-09-2010, 07:23 PM
do you have any pics of these pond ?

Tommygug
04-10-2010, 10:12 PM
It sounds like a great deal to have access to the amount of pond space you quoted. I don't know if your fish will be ready to spawn next year. They may be still to immature. It is almost extremely difficult to sex such young fish. You may be better off buying older fish(2/3) year olds. You will be able to better determine the sex and they should produce in the fish year.

freki
04-11-2010, 04:45 AM
Sorry, was out of town, just got back.

I will post pics on Tuesday (the next day I have time).