Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: max flow rate for 55 gallon bio filter

  1. #1
    togapond is offline
    togapond
    has Koi!!! And it only took 3 years.
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    153

    max flow rate for 55 gallon bio filter

    I've been searching for over an hour and can't find the max flow rate for a 55 gallon bio filter. I thought I read there was a max gph somewhere but search doesn't seem to find it.

    My situation will be a 3500 gallon pond -> 4" BD -> 4" pipe -> 330 gallon SC -> 3" pipe -> 55 gallon bio -> ?" pipe -> ? pump -> ?" pipe -> 3 TPR's.

    Any help on the ? for pipe size would also be a plus.

  2. #2
    John's Avatar
    John is offline
    John
    Happily married, loving life
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    OHIO, Buckeyeville
    Posts
    8,528
    Never mind wrong thread

  3. #3
    icu2's Avatar
    icu2 is online now
    icu2
    is now a member of the over 30" club!
    Administrator ~ WWKC BOD ~ WWKC President
    CKK in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Poulsbo, WA
    Posts
    12,604
    Quote Originally Posted by togapond View Post
    I've been searching for over an hour and can't find the max flow rate for a 55 gallon bio filter. I thought I read there was a max gph somewhere but search doesn't seem to find it.

    My situation will be a 3500 gallon pond -> 4" BD -> 4" pipe -> 330 gallon SC -> 3" pipe -> 55 gallon bio -> 3" reduced to 2" right before pump suction-> ? pump -> 2" -> 3 TPR's.

    Any help on the ? for pipe size would also be a plus.
    Is the 55g bio filter a moving bed?

  4. #4
    togapond is offline
    togapond
    has Koi!!! And it only took 3 years.
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    153
    Yes, aerated, but the media type is TBD, probably k1

  5. #5
    icu2's Avatar
    icu2 is online now
    icu2
    is now a member of the over 30" club!
    Administrator ~ WWKC BOD ~ WWKC President
    CKK in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Poulsbo, WA
    Posts
    12,604
    That's what I have, and I'm doing about 2500gph (5500gph thru 2)... I've heard that that's about the max
    rate... but I suspect how I had to modify mine, I bet I could pull a lot more. My hampster
    ball is below the 9" diffuser, so I don't think my k1 can get sucked against the hamster ball...
    which is what will happen at "max" flow. That and air will start to
    be pulled into the pump... which mine can't do either.

  6. #6
    Kent Wallace's Avatar
    Kent Wallace is offline
    Kent Wallace
    has not specified a status.
    The luckiest man in the world
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    4,610
    If you are using the 55 gallon drum as a static filter the flow rate should be below 2000 gph & closer to 1800 gph max. If your are building an aerated bio-filter you can pull up to 4000 gph with the only issue preventing bubbles from entering the pump if it's a pump suction filter.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Woodbury Minnesota
    Posts
    3,581
    My understanding was that max flows on a MB really weren't an issue and with Kent's 4k rate for a 55g barrels, that's pretty close to having no limit.

    Bubble intake on my pump outleted MB has been an issue which I anticipated it might be...3500gph flow in a 125g tank. Angling the intake has helped quite abit but does cause some dead spots in the rolling motion. I just call that my static part of my mb and live with it.
    MN Mike

    5400g 10'x14'x 5
    Dry Stacked Block Walls - Drop-in Liner
    4" BD - Cetus Seive - DIY Skimmer
    125g MB w/8ft2 Biollow9
    Converted Trition II Sand Filter

    My Pond Construction
    My QT Tank
    My Indoor Overwintering Tank
    Calculating K1 Bio Media


  8. #8
    jameskoi is offline
    jameskoi
    has not specified a status.
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Markham, Ontario
    Posts
    183
    Okay, what's the max flow rate can a 2" bulkhead handle in a 55G barrel scrubby filter handle before overflowing? The bulkhead on mine is 2". Right now, I'm piping about 500-600GPH through and water level almost covering the outlet.
    1500G basement pond; three DIY 55G barrel filters; metal halide coming soon; want another pond

    - orange Doitsu; death by ulcer
    !

  9. #9
    Kent Wallace's Avatar
    Kent Wallace is offline
    Kent Wallace
    has not specified a status.
    The luckiest man in the world
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas NV
    Posts
    4,610
    That would depend on how far below water line the 2" outlet is.

  10. #10
    jameskoi is offline
    jameskoi
    has not specified a status.
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Markham, Ontario
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by Kent Wallace View Post
    That would depend on how far below water line the 2" outlet is.
    I think mine are 3-4" below the water line. I have to measure again, I forgot.

    In this case, what is max flow I'm expecting here? I don't have enough pumps to test out the theory for the time being. LOL
    1500G basement pond; three DIY 55G barrel filters; metal halide coming soon; want another pond

    - orange Doitsu; death by ulcer
    !

  11. #11
    Ethan25's Avatar
    Ethan25 is offline
    Ethan25
    is also wondering.
    pm'str
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    13,286
    remember, if you are pulling 3,000-4,000 gph out of a 55 gallon moving bed, you are going to most likely see some major drawdown. I have 3" of drawdown at minimum, pulling 2200 gph through my 55 gallon barrel.
    Ephesians 2:8-9
    faith is a gift, not a personal talent.


  12. #12
    jameskoi is offline
    jameskoi
    has not specified a status.
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Markham, Ontario
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by Ethan25 View Post
    remember, if you are pulling 3,000-4,000 gph out of a 55 gallon moving bed, you are going to most likely see some major drawdown. I have 3" of drawdown at minimum, pulling 2200 gph through my 55 gallon barrel.
    Sorry... 3" drawdown... that's water level height above highest point of bulkhead? You are using 2" bulkhead, correct?
    1500G basement pond; three DIY 55G barrel filters; metal halide coming soon; want another pond

    - orange Doitsu; death by ulcer
    !

  13. #13
    icu2's Avatar
    icu2 is online now
    icu2
    is now a member of the over 30" club!
    Administrator ~ WWKC BOD ~ WWKC President
    CKK in Training
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Poulsbo, WA
    Posts
    12,604
    Quote Originally Posted by Ethan25 View Post
    remember, if you are pulling 3,000-4,000 gph out of a 55 gallon moving bed, you are going to most likely see some major drawdown. I have 3" of drawdown at minimum, pulling 2200 gph through my 55 gallon barrel.
    I've been able to minimize draw down in mine by feeding each barrel with a separate 4"
    pipe from the SC...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •