• Tired

Thread: Bio filter for mud pond?

mmzullo is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Bio filter for mud pond?

HI All,
      New here but have been reading for a while now. I have a mud pond(converted wet area in yard). It's about 35x25. 3 to 5 feet deep. It's spring feed and water run off from higher ground. The water is always merky. I've tried to keep it clear but with no luck. I've used a sediment filter with just a pad. Works ok but I have to clean every couple days. There is a waterfall/stream which I built for aeration. I'm not worried about the mery water. I have only two koi in the pond and which spawned so the water is good quality. I dont test the water. I've had gold fish in there for about 10 years. I must have taken about 2 to 3 hundred goldfish out already. There have never been any dead fish. Only the heron takes them on me.
      I'm not good with naming the type of koi. CRS. I think they are called Kin Matsuba. 1's gold and the other is orange. They look like the picture in the Koi id cd. Two large koi are about 14 to 18 inches. But my question is is it worth doing a vortex filter for larger particals in the pond. I do use this for watering the lawn and garden so there are large partical that come through the pump.
      Thanks in advance.
      All coments are welcome.
      Mike

• Remove Ads
        Advertising from Google
        Promoting Koi and Pond
        keeping since 2007

luke-gr is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

If there is no liner (earth bottomed) I think you would be fighting a losing battle. Ive seen how clear the water can get in the mud ponds over at Koi Village with no fish....it can be clear down a couple feet. Give ten big fish a few hours. No more clear. The fish constantly root around in the mud and stir things up.

This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Hi luke gr,