• Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ive lost 15 koi 4 hours ago -The oil or fuel from the chain saw got into the pond

Mishka is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Ive lost 15 koi 4 hours ago -The oil or fuel from the chain saw got into the pond

hi.

Hoping you can help. i am truly heartbroken. i have lost 15 koi today. This is my first attempt at a koi pond. We've had a bout of fluke, Costia, Dropsy all in a space of a few months. i was advised that they would need a bit more sun. as the pond was under quite a bit of shade. we proceeded to cut down the tree next to the pond. when i looked again the pond was covered in shards and debris from the tree. i phoned my koi expert, and was advised to drain the pond, add conditioner. and hope for the best. i didn't know that the oil or fuel had also gotten into the pond. however i did mention that they were using a chainsaw in cutting the tree down. my fish then started to gasp for air. i was re filling, back washing, rinsing. scooping out the debris. and to no avail. when i phoned my koi expert back, they advised that i would need to take my fish out of the pond. when i initially phoned, they did not mention this. i have since taken all the koi out of the pond, and put them in quarantine. but they are struggling. i think the shock and oil was too much.

my question is: i have drained the pond. but what do i do about the oil. again i was advised to use pool acid to clean the surface of the pond to remove the oil. what will this do to the lining? is this recommended? also, i don't know what to do about the remaining koi. as they are really struggling, i am terrified at the prospect of losing more.

my eco system after much trial and error finally came right, i had so many blood worms and natural vegetation, my fish were really happy. i am devastated, i cannot do this to other koi.

please help.

thank you.