• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 41 to 50 of 50

    Thread: can I fit all this in my 10x10' F.pit, and is this the best way to do it?

    1. #41
      vipertom1970 is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      California
      Posts
      3,325
      No, lath will not add any strength to any wall or to serve as reinforcement. Masonry walls below ground holding up just one side of dirt or a slope is considered a retaining wall and requires additional reinforcement and sometimes required larger block.
      Last edited by vipertom1970; 12-05-2017 at 01:58 PM.

    2. #42
      tom66 is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Location
      North Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts
      108
      today I went to my lumber supplier to price knockout bond beam blocks and lintel blocks. My latest idea was to fill one cell in the middle of the 10' wall and tie that into a bond beam with rebar throughout the perimeter (and/or maybe do one horizontal reinforced beam all around the wall at its midpoint). The salesperson asked me what I was building and we got to talking. He insisted that my plan was not a good one because forces into each of those 10' walls (6' high) would be too much. He would fill one cell in each corner and bury a long threaded rod into the footing. He would also fill one cell at mid point (with vertical rebar tied into the footing) and would bolt 2x8" treated into those rods. He would also tie perpendicular walls with some 2bys. I guess one way to do it would be to place one 2x10" (or bigger, or doubled) from one mid point to the one on its opposite side, and another perpendicular to it. Another way would be to have several (smaller ones) every 2 or 3 feet, installed in the same grid-like shape. He figures that that would hold those forces (soil pressure pushing inwards) much better than my plan. What do you guys think?
      The guy in question is probably not a structural engineer but has been involved in the business a long time (he was there 17 years ago when we build our house) and was definitely talking like he knows the subject.
      What do you guys think?

    3. #43
      vipertom1970 is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      California
      Posts
      3,325
      why can you just use city standard for masonry wall and footing up to 6' high(pre-engineered). every city has city standard details for a masonry wall.

    4. #44
      BroHay is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Nov 2017
      Location
      Mexico Nuevo
      Posts
      166
      The above detail I referenced was a first tier of a retaining wall system that was 3 tiers with 8' setbacks / tier and a total of 26' tall.

      Each tier was over excavated 12' back and special engineered fill was put in its place with 95%+ compaction minimum needed to pass soils test.

      The next tier footing was then dug in the lowers compacted soil with the same 95%+ compaction before the footing placed. Same for the 3rd tier.

      Point is, 36' from the face of the lower tier was compacted just to hold back the forces @ hand. Not to mention the weep holes, French drains, and site drainage culverts that were throughout the wall.

      I would look at your city's standards for retaining walls as suggested and build that per detail. At least you know that things will hopefully stay in place.

      Though not mandatory, I will not even mention inspections. Under a homeowners permit, it would give peace of mind to the future owner should you decide to sell that things were done in a professional manner.

      Adam

    5. #45
      tsippel is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2013
      Location
      pittsburgh pa
      Posts
      836
      Tom I guess it's Tom
      Stay on course I've built bigger with 3000 lb fish load with a lower budget and the water is crystal clear
      Clear water was the hardest (3years)
      Treating fish is cheep
      Don't let people get you down
      The trick to filtration is big plumbing
      bottom drain needs to be 8" pipe
      Rdf filter
      Moving bed media is pricey to power
      Shower tower is what I would use

    6. #46
      tom66 is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Location
      North Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts
      108
      any ideas on how to tie these two? I am planning on pouring collar on Thursday and I will be building pit walls later, so I was going to bury 90^bent rebar in the collar and tie that with the vertically reinforced rebar when making the wall, but I am now realizing that placing blocks would be an impossibility (as the same block would have to be inserted from above into the footing rebar, and from below into the collar rebar) any ideas on how to solve this problem?
      All I can see is either 1) tie into the horizontally reinforced bond beam (last two rows of wall), 2) cut a notch in blocks ,3) leave the one coming down on the exterior part of the wall and pour concrete in the 1-2" gap between dirt and wall (and stuck a bunch of other rebar), 4) cut them both to the middle point and place another straight rebar into those cells so that that extra rebar tie those two together.
      Attached Images Attached Images  

    7. #47
      vipertom1970 is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      California
      Posts
      3,325
      What is the purpose of the bent rebar but if you have to do it then drill a hole into the form board.
      Last edited by vipertom1970; 12-20-2017 at 08:04 AM.

    8. #48
      kevin32's Avatar
      kevin32 is offline Supporting Member
      is chillin
       
      Feeling:
      Friendly
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Brentwood, ca up north
      Posts
      7,304
      Quote Originally Posted by tsippel View Post
      Tom I guess it's Tom
      Stay on course I've built bigger with 3000 lb fish load with a lower budget and the water is crystal clear
      Clear water was the hardest (3years)
      Treating fish is cheep
      Don't let people get you down
      The trick to filtration is big plumbing
      bottom drain needs to be 8" pipe
      Rdf filter
      Moving bed media is pricey to power
      Shower tower is what I would use
      who makes a rdf that accepts 8 inch pipes?

      and also what is a cheap budget? i believe he has $2,000 to spend on filtration. that will land u a small 6400 gph pump and a a ultra sieve filter. this rdf will cost more than $7,000 given the price i paid for my rdf which is a 55/40. your cheaper budget and 3,000 pound fish load doesn't really add up to me for the pond being built. i also would not swim in 3,000 pounds of fish waste.
      Last edited by kevin32; 12-19-2017 at 11:15 PM.

    9. #49
      Josh H's Avatar
      Josh H is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      St Louis Metro
      Posts
      232
      Quote Originally Posted by kevin32 View Post
      who makes a rdf that accepts 8 inch pipes?
      Fairve http://www.faivre.fr/index.php/en/products/drum-filters

      hydrotech
      http://technomaps.veoliawatertechnol...drumfilter/en/

      Profidrum can be custom made to any size or configuration...

    10. #50
      kevin32's Avatar
      kevin32 is offline Supporting Member
      is chillin
       
      Feeling:
      Friendly
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Brentwood, ca up north
      Posts
      7,304
      Quote Originally Posted by Josh H View Post
      Fairve http://www.faivre.fr/index.php/en/products/drum-filters

      hydrotech
      http://technomaps.veoliawatertechnol...drumfilter/en/

      Profidrum can be custom made to any size or configuration...
      thanks. just was told profidrum can be custom fabed, very cool

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •