• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 20 of 26

    Thread: Does goldfish have carp pox?

    1. #1
      CarpCharacin's Avatar
      CarpCharacin is offline Koiphen Kid
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Meh
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Salt Lake City, Utah
      Posts
      1,251

      Does goldfish have carp pox?

      I'm a little worried that some of my fish in one of my 40 gallon tanks has carp pox. I just added a new goldfish, so I'm worried that if the other fish do have carp pox, that he will get it. I'm not completely sure if it's just a slime coat irritation, or if it's carp pox. Some of the fish have some small white bumps and one of them has what looks like some irritation on one side.
      Attached Images Attached Images    
      Last edited by CarpCharacin; 4 Weeks Ago at 12:31 AM.

    2. #2
      koiman1950's Avatar
      koiman1950 is offline Senior Member ~ Koi Health Care Committee Member
      is semi retired
       
      Feeling:
      Tired
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      San Jose, Ca
      Posts
      19,439
      Based on those pics, it looks like your water is quite turbid/dirty. I've not seen goldfish get carp pox ever.
      Mike

      check out our website at: http://www.pond-life.net



      "Our goal is to assist with emergency and Koi health issues, as well as educate on best practices. Please help us gain a clear picture by giving the original poster time to answer our questions before offering opinions and suggested treatments."

    3. #3
      Mot23 is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2017
      Location
      OKLAHOMA
      Posts
      28
      Could it be something more common like ich? Was the new fish quarantined before added to the tank?

      Sent from my LG-H950 using Tapatalk

    4. #4
      kdh's Avatar
      kdh is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Location
      redding.california
      Posts
      7,360
      goldfish can not get carp pox from koi (Cyhv-1).

    5. #5
      cindy's Avatar
      cindy is offline Moderator ~ WWKC Vice President ~
      Koi Health Care Committee Member
      is Hopeful
       
      Feeling:
      Friendly
       
      Join Date
      May 2004
      Location
      Mt. Wash. KY - 7 miles outside Louisville
      Posts
      63,421
      Looks more like a bad water problem and maybe ammonia burn or fungus. Do a 50% water change with a chloramine binder.

      Agree with asking about qt? How many fish are in that tank? After you do the water change, start testing.
      My opinions in ER and on this forum are mine only. Use my advice at your own discretion.

      "Our goal is to assist with emergency and Koi health issues, as well as educate on best practices. Please help us gain a clear picture by giving the original poster time to answer our questions before offering opinions and suggested treatments."


      K.O.I.

      Member: EIHIOICGI

      http://www.koiphen.com/forums/showth...nd-Information

      http://www.koiphen.com/forums/showth...06#post2606106 Show thread

    6. #6
      koiman1950's Avatar
      koiman1950 is offline Senior Member ~ Koi Health Care Committee Member
      is semi retired
       
      Feeling:
      Tired
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      San Jose, Ca
      Posts
      19,439
      How big is that tank? I see more turbidity than simply an "algae problem". If you actually have filtration on this tank, what type and how much?
      Mike

      check out our website at: http://www.pond-life.net



      "Our goal is to assist with emergency and Koi health issues, as well as educate on best practices. Please help us gain a clear picture by giving the original poster time to answer our questions before offering opinions and suggested treatments."

    7. #7
      CarpCharacin's Avatar
      CarpCharacin is offline Koiphen Kid
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Meh
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Salt Lake City, Utah
      Posts
      1,251
      Ugh, every time I try to edit my post, it deletes it.

      There are actually 5 fish in the tank, I wasn't could ting the new one, but I'm going to be moving the koi. The tank is a 40 gallon breeder, and I have an AquaClear 70. I would never put goldfish into a tank without any filtration.

    8. #8
      koiman1950's Avatar
      koiman1950 is offline Senior Member ~ Koi Health Care Committee Member
      is semi retired
       
      Feeling:
      Tired
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      San Jose, Ca
      Posts
      19,439
      Keeping goldfish in a tank, on it's own, requires about 4x the tank size filter capacity with a proper intake system to the filter from the tank. Undergravel filters and some "over the side" units are weak because of the flaws in that part of the design. Sorry, but that filter will not handle goldfish in an aquarium of 40 gal.
      Mike

      check out our website at: http://www.pond-life.net



      "Our goal is to assist with emergency and Koi health issues, as well as educate on best practices. Please help us gain a clear picture by giving the original poster time to answer our questions before offering opinions and suggested treatments."

    9. #9
      CarpCharacin's Avatar
      CarpCharacin is offline Koiphen Kid
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Meh
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Salt Lake City, Utah
      Posts
      1,251
      I've been keeping goldfish in that tank with that filter for over a year, and I haven't had problems until recently, probably due to the increased bio load. That filter kept ammonia at 0 PPM when I had less goldfish in the tank. I can add another AquaClear 70.

    10. #10
      cindy's Avatar
      cindy is offline Moderator ~ WWKC Vice President ~
      Koi Health Care Committee Member
      is Hopeful
       
      Feeling:
      Friendly
       
      Join Date
      May 2004
      Location
      Mt. Wash. KY - 7 miles outside Louisville
      Posts
      63,421
      You just added a new fish, correct?
      My opinions in ER and on this forum are mine only. Use my advice at your own discretion.

      "Our goal is to assist with emergency and Koi health issues, as well as educate on best practices. Please help us gain a clear picture by giving the original poster time to answer our questions before offering opinions and suggested treatments."


      K.O.I.

      Member: EIHIOICGI

      http://www.koiphen.com/forums/showth...nd-Information

      http://www.koiphen.com/forums/showth...06#post2606106 Show thread

    11. #11
      CarpCharacin's Avatar
      CarpCharacin is offline Koiphen Kid
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Meh
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Salt Lake City, Utah
      Posts
      1,251
      Quote Originally Posted by cindy View Post
      You just added a new fish, correct?
      Yes, I added one yesterday, before I posted this thread.

    12. #12
      cindy's Avatar
      cindy is offline Moderator ~ WWKC Vice President ~
      Koi Health Care Committee Member
      is Hopeful
       
      Feeling:
      Friendly
       
      Join Date
      May 2004
      Location
      Mt. Wash. KY - 7 miles outside Louisville
      Posts
      63,421
      Good chance the new fish and the old fish had parasites/bacterial that didn't mesh. Start with the water changes and be ready to treat for parasites and bacterial. That's why I love my microscope. I know what I"m treating. Most of the time
      My opinions in ER and on this forum are mine only. Use my advice at your own discretion.

      "Our goal is to assist with emergency and Koi health issues, as well as educate on best practices. Please help us gain a clear picture by giving the original poster time to answer our questions before offering opinions and suggested treatments."


      K.O.I.

      Member: EIHIOICGI

      http://www.koiphen.com/forums/showth...nd-Information

      http://www.koiphen.com/forums/showth...06#post2606106 Show thread

    13. #13
      koiman1950's Avatar
      koiman1950 is offline Senior Member ~ Koi Health Care Committee Member
      is semi retired
       
      Feeling:
      Tired
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      San Jose, Ca
      Posts
      19,439
      Quote Originally Posted by CarpCharacin View Post
      I've been keeping goldfish in that tank with that filter for over a year, and I haven't had problems until recently, probably due to the increased bio load. That filter kept ammonia at 0 PPM when I had less goldfish in the tank. I can add another AquaClear 70.
      That's the point I'm trying to get across. The load you have is too much for that filter to handle and the "over the side" filter designs don't do that well with goldfish unless sized large enough but seeing the intake tube that simply sticks down about 2/3 of the way to the bottom of the tank, how do you remove the waste from the bottom?
      Mike

      check out our website at: http://www.pond-life.net



      "Our goal is to assist with emergency and Koi health issues, as well as educate on best practices. Please help us gain a clear picture by giving the original poster time to answer our questions before offering opinions and suggested treatments."

    14. #14
      CarpCharacin's Avatar
      CarpCharacin is offline Koiphen Kid
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Meh
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Salt Lake City, Utah
      Posts
      1,251
      Quote Originally Posted by koiman1950 View Post
      That's the point I'm trying to get across. The load you have is too much for that filter to handle and the "over the side" filter designs don't do that well with goldfish unless sized large enough but seeing the intake tube that simply sticks down about 2/3 of the way to the bottom of the tank, how do you remove the waste from the bottom?
      It's a bare bottom tank, there never is much waste at the bottom. I ordered another AquaClear 70 for the tank, and I'm going to do a large water change tomorrow. Here is a picture of the entire tank, there are some rocks at the bottom, but no waste.
      Attached Images Attached Images  

    15. #15
      Blammo's Avatar
      Blammo is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Apr 2004
      Location
      Casa Presidente, Caracas
      Posts
      6,015
      Prolly velvet.Straight Malachite at std rate will fix it. Copper based is the med of choice but not with that Bickelgoi in the tank. It'll kill the koi.
      PURA VIDA
      COSTA RICA

      They hate our freedom....

      "Every decent man is ashamed of the government he lives under." - H.L. Mencken


      "When I give food to the poor, they call me a saint. When I ask why the poor have no food, they call me a communist."
      - Dom Helda Camara

      "The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts."
      - Bertrand Russell

      "Untouched by the breath of God, unrestricted by human conscience, both capitalism and socialism are repulsive."
      - Alexander Solzhenitsyn

    16. #16
      CarpCharacin's Avatar
      CarpCharacin is offline Koiphen Kid
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Meh
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Salt Lake City, Utah
      Posts
      1,251
      Can I use Kordon Rid Ich plus? I used that to treat velvet before.

    17. #17
      mjfromga's Avatar
      mjfromga is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Location
      Georgia
      Posts
      170
      It is not carp pox. It is not velvet. It is not ich. Looks more like slime blotches. Likely flukes or perhaps just damaged slime coat from poor water quality. Either way the tank is very dirty, the fish don't look very healthy, and it is badly overstocked. Why is there a Koi in there? You have the capacity for 3 goldfish max. Copper will kill the Koi, and very well may kill the goldfish too.. Your tank isn't even filled properly so you're losing even more valuable water volume. In addition the Koi can jump without a lid. Your filter output looks like it's beginning to clog... The water is not exiting as it should (looks leaky and staunched). Even another AC 70 won't be able to keep up with that fish load. I see a mess, not a fish habitat. Sorry.
      Last edited by mjfromga; 3 Weeks Ago at 04:49 PM.

    18. #18
      CarpCharacin's Avatar
      CarpCharacin is offline Koiphen Kid
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Meh
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Location
      Salt Lake City, Utah
      Posts
      1,251
      I thought that I already explained why the koi is in there, it was too small to go into my 1500 gallon pond when I got it, and I'm hesitant to move it now, because it's starting to get colder outside. Two of the 4 goldfish in that tank are very small, and I'll be able to move the other two goldfish into another 40 gallon tank soon. WTH does it mean for a tank to be "filled properly"? I fill up the tank to the top when I do a water change, but some of the water evaporates. I don't have a lid on my koi pond, and I've never had a fish jump out.

    19. #19
      RichToyBox's Avatar
      RichToyBox is offline Administrator ~ WWKC BOD ~
      Koi Health Care Committee Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      Awesome
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2005
      Location
      Sandston, VA
      Posts
      12,513
      I believe the Kordon Rid-Ich is similar to the Proform C and it will take care of most of the parasites, but not flukes, and that may reduce the irritation that is causing the thicker slime coat. I am not sure of the directions for Rid-Ich, but I suspect it requires 3 treatments with a 25% water change before each treatment. If it is flukes, then Prazi needs to be added with the last dose.

      "Our goal is to assist with emergency and Koi health issues, as well as educate on best practices. Please help us gain a clear picture by giving the original poster time to answer our questions before offering opinions and suggested treatments."

      Zone 7 A/B
      Keep your words sweet. You never know when you may have to eat them.
      Richard

    20. #20
      mjfromga's Avatar
      mjfromga is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      Feeling:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Location
      Georgia
      Posts
      170
      Never heard of a goldfish jump from a pond either, have heard it happen in tanks many times. Not the same. And you would have less evaporation with a lid on the tank. It looks about 10-15% depleted which should not happen at any time. Anyway good luck with your setup. You've been given sound advice by other members.

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •