• Sneaky
  • Tired

Thread: Winter 2017...

little_mikey is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Winter 2017...

In the short time I have been growing lilies I have been very fortunate in the generosity and hard work of those who have been doing this for years. Mostly because I am a broke college student... but also as respect to the original hybridizers I try not to loose plants. Last year I pulled my old original minuta "mother plant" and used two small aquarium heaters in a whiskey barrel on the porch to keep water temps 55* F + at night... Also heaved the thing indoors on really bad nights. This year I am back at my parents house ....

Fortunately I have the ability to make my own "green houses" to extend my growing season. For me the evaporation at night is what seemed to be "peeling the heat" out of my tubs (water levels dropped in heated/uncovered tubs). This February I was able to start my LeStang tubers even though the water temps at night where in the 50s... I had used a plexiglass sheet over a whiskey barrel. Forgot to take it off one morning and temps hit 115 by about 2 pm.

Recently saw some friends who lined their off-exhibit section with plastic shelves to hold up plants. I did the same in my large stock tanks. Then used pipes to make struts to hold up a plastic canopy ($1 shower curtains). I still vent it to keep temps from going over 90 (surface). Things seem to have perked up. Jongkolnee should bloom for the first time tomorrow. Aussie fragments might bounce back and accumulate enough biomass to tuber (fingers crossed).

Anyway, wonder if anybody does this. Also if anyone knows if yellow tropicals like Trailblazer are more sensitive to cold (been told they are weak plants by someone).

Name:  IMG_0415.jpg
Views: 130
Size:  219.5 KB
      You can see one of my Aussies perked up...

Name:  IMG_0423.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  261.9 KB
      Without canopy

Name:  IMG_0436.jpg
Views: 141
Size:  102.2 KB