• Sneaky
  • Tired

Thread: Dormant koi? What's going on?

jblueturtle17 is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Dormant koi? What's going on?

I'm new to Koi and ponds in general and made a very rookie mistake.
      I've had my koi for about two weeks now. When I went about buying my equipment I was lead to believe I was buying a filter/pump combo. After about a week the water was incredibly murky, and though my own research I discovered I was lead astray, or there was a miscommunication. I went out and bought a filter and got it set up right away. It's about 3 days later and the water is back to being crystal clear. There is still some debris, but it's clear enough that I can see fish poops on the bottom of the pond. One of my fish is gone. No traces of it. So I'm fairly sure a giant blue heron that I saw a few days ago must have gotten to it. Anyway, the rest of the fish are pretty much dormant in a group every time I go out there. It's not always in the same spot, but I haven't noticed them touch any of there food in a few days and I haven't seen them swimming unless provoked to do so, so I'm starting to get worried. I did add water and treat it, but that was about a week ago now. Any clue whats going on? What I can do? I'm really hoping my mistake didn't kill my fish.

Thanks in advanced for any help.

• Remove Ads
        Advertising from Google
        Promoting Koi and Pond
        keeping since 2007

koiman1950 is offline Supporting Member
      is semi retired

Feeling:
      Tired

It was most likely that they are afraid of the big bad heron!lol Until you can protect them from it, this will continue to be the case.
      Mike

check out our website at: http://www.pond-life.net