• Tired

Thread: spawning

giacopuzzi is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

spawning

Hi, I am writing from Italy.
      this is my first attempt to a controlled spawning so I am asking you a confirmation that I got right the full process:
      1) I filled a 500 liter tub with 20 cm green water coming from the winter rain collected over my swimming pool cover to grow infusoria (PH 7 and KH 0). Then added other 20 cm with main pool water (PH 7,5 and KH 13) to raise KH.
      2) I put daphnia magna in the tank (no areation so far)
      3) I will put my selected koi set in an intex pool with areation, spawning ropes and no filtration
      4) Once spawned I will put the spawning ropes in the tub (question: if i use malachite green and then put the ropes in the tanks the daphnia will be killed?)
      5) Will add Sponge air filters to the tank
      6) after 2 weeks I will raise the water level to 80 cm (fry swimming)
      7) after other 2 weeks I will cull and put the selected fry in the main pool in a fry cage (main pool with daily complete water change and no filters)

Do you find it correct? Do you have suggestion?
      Thanks a lot

Alberto

• Remove Ads
        Advertising from Google
        Promoting Koi and Pond
        keeping since 2007

Matt24 is offline Senior Member
      is watchin' em grow

Feeling:
      ----

Hi Alberto. Welcome to Koiphen. I can see that for a first controlled spawn attempt, you've put a lot of thought into this and made lots of preparations. Others on this forum may be better able to answer your questions than I, since some use methods for spawning, treating, feeding, raising that are more similar to your processes than those that I have used (described in my Showa Spawn thread). That said, here are a few comments: