• Tired
  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Review plans for first pond?

SDTurtle is offline Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Review plans for first pond?

This will be my first pond - I found a turtle in my yard last year and he's been living with some goldfish and some plants in a rubbermaid tub since; I'd like to give him a better home, add a turtle or two and more goldfish, maybe a koi depending on if the pond can support it...

I've just been reading up on this site and others, other than that I have no experience. The pond will be about 9x7 and average two feet deep, which is about 850 gallons. These plans might be overkill for a small pond, but I like making stuff so I don't really mind overkill, especially if it means I get a nice low-maintenance pond. On the other hand, my ballpark cost estimate is over $2000 now, which is more than I was thinking; and I don't really like spending money if it doesn't add much...

Here's a picture of the yard:

Name:  YardPic.JPG
Views: 670
Size:  173.0 KB