• Tired

Thread: Snapping Turtles

kalipekona is offline Junior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Snapping Turtles

This is my first time posting so please be gentle

3 years ago I purchased a house which included a 64000 gallon mud pond. The pond houses a variety of wildlife including red earred slider turtles, frogs, stripped bass (I think) and 10 koi (all over 15"). When I bought the house, the previous owner told me that he had recently seen a snapping turtle in the pond and that I should get rid of it. Long story short, in the 3 years I have lived in my house I have trapped 2 snapping turtles found new homes for them without harming them.

I noticed the other day that I have two more snapping turtles in my pond. I'm curious what your thoughts are about whether I should catch and relocate the snapping turtles or not. They don't seem to harming my Koi which is my main concern. In addition, as I mentioned above, I have a bunch of additional wildlife which call my pond home. If I catch the snapping turtles and remove them from my pond, I'm concerned that it will throw off the "balance of nature" in my pond and it will beging to become overpopulated with the other wildlife in the pond. Thoughts?

• Remove Ads
        Advertising from Google
        Promoting Koi and Pond
        keeping since 2007

andrew davis is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Snapping turtles reduce diversity, they will chow down on what they like until it is destroyed. Snakes, other smaller turtles, frogs, fish, plants

Many a mud pond becomes a mud pond because snapping turtles have destroyed everything else, plants, critters, whole shebang :::gulp:::

Regards, andy
      http://www.flickr.com/photos/21940871@N06/
      http://swglist.wordpress.com/
      “The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

CraigP is offline Senior Member
      is Needing No Insane Clown Posse