Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Nightstorm's Overly Ambitious Virginia Build - 15,000 gallon semi-raised block pond

Nightstorm
    - I'm so obsessed I'm becoming a bore

Nightstorm's Overly Ambitious Virginia Build - 15,000 gallon semi-raised block pond

Well, I've finally broken ground on my pond, so I guess it's time to start my build thread. I'm building a 15,000 gallon, semi-raised pond out of concrete block with a remote filter pit.

Background: I joined Koiphen back in 2007, after lurking for a good deal of time before that. I've been taking notes, stealing ideas, and generally obsessing ever since. I've been obsessed with fish my whole life, from fishing (I know that seems counter-intuitive, but it's not) to aquariums. I've had an affinity for asian styles since growing up in Hawaii in the early 70's (and I remember seeing koi in ponds around restaurants and tourist attractions). I'm an Engineer by training (alright, electrical engineering, but the zeal for designing is the same!), and I love building things. Finally, I have an almost obsessive problem with collecting "things" - beer cans (late 70's), comic books, rocks, butterflies, coins - if I can organize them, I'll collect them. So clearly, koi keeping hits all of these cylinders.

Garage QT Tank: One of my first Koiphen endeavors was creating a tank in my garage. One of my earliest posts from 2007 (http://www.koiphen.com/forums/showth...erm&highlight=) was discussing building a garage tank that would let me start keeping koi immediately, learn a little about husbandry, and have a QT already done and ready to go once I built my real pond. In 2007, I was guessing the main pond would be in 2009...