• Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Planed Concrete Construction

I_Broke_It is offline Senior Member
      This user has no status.

Feeling:
      ----

Talking Planed Concrete Construction

Hi,

I am new to the hobby and would like to have some input in to how I need to go about completing a project like in the attached. There is a fall of between 500 to 1000 (2-3 feet) and I would like to have the small pond to be on the top level and the big pond on the lower level. Most of the paved area would need to be on the level with the small pool as I would not like to undermine the foundations of my house. For the same reason I think it would be wise to do the ponds in concrete as well.

For the big pond I was thinking of having a sloping bottom starting at 1500 (5 ft) and ending with 1800 (6 ft) with two bottom drains. I would like to have a water fall from the small pond.

For filtration I was thinking of having a settelment chamber, foam fractioner and algae scrubber. I was thinking of covering the filter pit with a deck. I was also thinking of installing solar heating.

Please let me know if there is any thing that I left out (I am sure there is tunes) as well as your opinions on my initial design.

Thanks in advance.
      Attached Images Attached Images  

• Remove Ads
        Advertising from Google
        Promoting Koi and Pond
        keeping since 2007

icu2 is offline Administrator ~ WWKC President
      ~ WWKC Treasurer
      is sorry otters exist

Feeling:
      Annoyed

Welcome to Koiphen!

Can you give the dimensions of the upper and lower ponds? It'll give others a better sense of
      the volume of the ponds...

I've always kind of considered Foam Fractionators as an extra "add on" type filter. If the
      pond will have Koi, I'd plan for more bio filters with the settling chamber, and put my foam fractionator
      on a seperate circuit with the water coming from a skimmer and through a sand and gravel filter, then
      back to the upper pond.